Tennis. Davis-2021 Cup: schedule, participants who will perform in the Russian national team, Daniil Medvedev. Sport-Express

The main information about the Davis-2021 Cup.

Davis-2021 Cup: Participants and competition schedule

Davis Cup is the largest international team competition in men's tennis. It has been held annually since 1900, since 1979 – under the auspices of the International Tennis Federation. As of 2020, representatives of 142 countries of the world take part in the Davis Cup.

The current owner of the Davis Cup is Spain.

The current format of the Davis Cup

In 2018, the previously operating regulations of the tournament was changed. Earlier, all matches were held between two teams on the system of home and visiting matches. There were 16 teams in the world group, and for the victory it was necessary to win 4 matches during the year.

Since 2019, to conquer the trophy, it is necessary to win in the final, which takes place in one place and within a week and a half. 18 teams participate in the final: 12 teams that have passed the qualifications, four semi -finalists of the last draw and two countries via Wild Card.

18 teams are divided into six groups, in which matches are held in a circular system. Six winners of the groups plus two teams, who took second places with the best indicators in the won matches and sets, go to the quarterfinals.

Team competitions include three meetings: two single and steam room. From the quarterfinals, matches are held through the Olympic system, the winner is awarded a trophy – a silver salad of the Davis Cup. To participate in qualifying matches, a collection with a low rating must go through a multi -level system of zonal qualifying tournaments.

Davis Cup in 2021 for the second time will be held in a new format. The semi -finalists of the previous draw (Spain, Canada, Great Britain and Russia) and two teams, who received from the organizers of Wild Card, were directly held.

The remaining 12 participants became known in early March according to the results of qualification matches. The qualification takes place on the site of one of the two prefabricated teams up to three victories, with four single fights and one paired match. Only two single meetings and one steam room are held in the final part. In the playoffs are the winners of the groups and the two best teams that took the second places.

Russian team in 2021

According to the results of the performance in the 2019 season (exit to the 1/2 finals), the Russian team secured a performance in the final part without passing the qualifying matches. This season, the Russians have already won the men's team atp CUP, a total tennis medal offset at the Olympics and the women's team Cup Billy Jin King.

Since the Davis Cup in fact has the status of the male championship of the world, Vada anti -doping sanctions are distributed to it, and our team will perform on it under the flag of the Russian Tennis Federation.

Where will the Davis Cup final take place

The final of the Davis Cup 2021 will be held from November 25 to December 5, 2021.Due to the coronavirus pandemic in 2021, the group stage of the final will be held in three cities: Madrid, Turin and Innsbruck. Matches 1/4 finals, semi-finals and finals will be held in Madrid.

The composition of the Russian team

The composition of the Russian national team: Daniil Medvedev, Andrey Rublev, Aslan Karatsev, Karen Khachanov, Evgeny Donskoy. Team Captain: Shamil Tarpishchev.

Russia's opponents at the Davis Cup

The Russian national team at the group stage in Madrid will play with the teams of Spain and Ecuador.

All participants in the Davis Cup Final

Spain (Pablo Carreño Busta, Roberto Bautista Agut, Carlos Alcaraz, Feliciano Lopez, Marcel Granollers)

Russian Tennis Federation (Daniil Medvedev, Andrey Rublev, Aslan Karatsev, Karen Khachanov, Evgeny Donskoy)

Ecuador (Emilio Gomez, Roberto Quiroz, Diego Hidalgo, Gonzalo Escobar, Caetano March)

Canada (Vasek Pospisil, Braden Shnur, Stephen Sharp, Peter Polanski)

Kazakhstan (Alexander Bublik, Mikhail Kukushkin, Dmitry Popko, Alexander Nedovesov, Andrey Golubev)

Sweden (Michael Ymer, Elias Ymer, Jonathan Mridha, Andre Goransson)

France (Arthur Rinderknech, Adrian Mannarino, Richard Gasquet, Pierre-Hugues Herbert, Nicolas Mayut)

United Kingdom (Cameron Norrie, Dan Evans, Liam Broady, Joe Salsbury, Neil Skupsky)

Czech Republic (Jiri Vesely, Jiří Lehecka, Zdeněk Kolar, Tomas Mahacs)

Croatia (Marin Cilic, Borna Coric, Borno Gojo, Mate Pavic, Nikola Mektic)

Australia (Alex de Manaur, John Millman, Alexei Popyrin, Alex Bolt, John Pierce)

Hungary (Marton Fucovic, Attila Balazs, Zombor Piros, Fabian Marozhan, Mate Valkuch)

USA (John Isner, Reilly Opelka, Taylor Fritz, Jack Sock, Rajiv Rem)

Italy (Yannik Sinner, Lorenzo Sonego, Fabio Fognini, Lorenzo Musetti, Simone Bolelli)

Colombia (Daniel Galan, Nicolas Meya, Christian Rodriguez, Juan Sebastian Cabal, Robert Farah)

Serbia (Novak Djokovic, Dusan Lajovic, Filip Krajinovic, Laszlo Djere, Miomir Kecmanovic)

Germany (Jan-Lennart Struff, Dominik Koepfer, Piotr Gojowczyk, Kevin Kravitz, Tim Puez)

Austria (Denis Novak, Yuri Rodionov, Gerald Meltzer, Oliver Marach, Philip Oswald)

Davis Cup Final Schedule

Group stage

November 25, Thursday

France – Czech Republic, Canada – Sweden, Croatia – Australia. Start at 18.00

November 26, Friday

Serbia – Austria, Spain – Ecuador, USA – Italy. Start at 18.00

November 27, Saturday

France – Great Britain, Kazakhstan – Sweden, Australia – Hungary. Start at 12.00

Serbia – Germany. Russian Tennis Federation – Ecuador, Italy – Colombia. Start no earlier than 18.00

November 28, Sunday

Great Britain – Czech Republic, Canada – Kazakhstan, Croatia – Hungary. Start at 12.00

Germany – Austria. Spain – Russian Tennis Federation, USA – Colombia. Start no earlier than 18.00


November 29, Monday

Group D winner – Group E winner. Start at 18.00

November 30, Tuesday

Group C winner — Group F winner. Start at 18.00

December 1, Wednesday

Group B winner is one of the top two runners-up teams. Start at 18.00

December 2, Thursday

The Group A winner is one of the top two runners-up teams. Start at 18.00